Saturday, March 2, 2024

MP Larry Miller Celebrates 100th Designation Under Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act


Last week, the federal government announced the designation of the Enragée Point Lighthouse as a heritage lighthouse under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act.

Larry Miller, Member of Parliament for Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound and sponsor of the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act in the House of Commons, is pleased that the legislation is now responsible for the protection of 100 lighthouses across Canada.

In January of 2008, Miller worked with Senator Patricia Carney to sponsor Bill S-215 – An act to protect heritage lighthouses in the House of Commons. The legislation would receive Royal Assent later that year. The purpose of the legislation is to protect lighthouses of significant heritage value. The Act protects the heritage character of designated lighthouses and requires both federal and non-federal owners to maintain, care for, and responsibly manage them. Designations under the Act are made by the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change on the recommendation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board.

I am very pleased to see that legislation that I saw through the House of Commons is successfully protecting heritage lighthouses across the country,” said Miller. “The lighthouse on Flowerpot Island is already designated as a heritage lighthouse under this act and I look forward to seeing many more designations being made in the years to come.”

100 lighthouses in eight provinces are protected under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act. Among them, 42 are managed directly by the federal government while 58 are managed by non-federal owners.

Popular this week

Latest news