queenspark270The Ontario government, in partnership with the federal government, is delivering on its commitment to provide urgently needed emergency assistance to Ontario's 444 municipalities.

Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound MPP Bill Walker announced that local municipalities will receive a total $9,358,730 to address municipal operating and transit pressures related to the COVID-19 pandemic, as part of the first round of emergency funding under the Safe Restart Agreement.

Ontario secured up to $4 billion in emergency assistance for municipalities through the Safe Restart Agreement, which gives them the support and flexibility they need to protect the health and well-being of their communities, while continuing to deliver critical public services as the province continues on the path of renewal, growth and economic recovery.

Municipalities receiving funding:

Arran-Elderslie $184,800

Bruce County $2,497,900

Chatsworth $189,500

Georgian Bluffs $318,000

Grey County $3,088,500

Grey Highlands $335,000

Hanover $222,200

Meaford $352,600

Northern Bruce Peninsula $319,700

Owen Sound $622,000

South Bruce Peninsula $444,700

Southgate $195,300

West Grey $359,700

Our local municipalities have been hit with extra costs due to the COVID-19 pandemic. This funding will provide municipalities with the support they need to protect the health and well-being of the people of Ontario, while continuing to deliver critical public services as our province continues down the path of renewal, growth and economic recovery,” said Walker.

In September, Ontario’s 444 municipalities will receive $695 million in Phase 1 funding for municipal operating pressures. This funding will be allocated on a per household basis and would be shared 50/50 between upper- and lower-tier municipalities. Up to $695 million in additional funding will be available through Phase 2 for municipalities that have COVID-related financial impacts that exceed the initial per household allocation provided under Phase 1.

In addition to the support for municipalities, the government is providing over $660 million in the first phase of transit funding to the 110 municipalities with transit systems. The funding can be used to provide immediate relief from transit pressures, such as lower ridership, as well as for new costs due to COVID-19, such as enhanced cleaning and masks for staff. In the second phase, additional allocations will be provided based on expenses incurred to ensure the funding meets the needs of municipalities. As part of the Safe Restart Agreement with the federal government, up to $2 billion is being provided to support public transit in Ontario.

Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound municipalities receiving transit money include:

Hanover $41,014

Meaford $15,587

Owen Sound $172,229