outgoing councillors 2014

The final meeting of the current Meaford council was held on Monday November 24, and those councillors who will not be returning for the next term of council were recognized, while those councillors who will be part of the next council provided a hint of what to expect after the new council is sworn in on December 1 at Meaford Hall.

Of the four council members who will not return, one was by choice, another had an unsuccessful run at the Mayor's chair, while the other two failed to garner enough votes for re-election.

At the meeting, the Municipality of Meaford presented gifts of appreciation (photo) and extended its thanks to outgoing Mayor Francis Richardson, along with Councillor James McIntosh, Councillor Lynda Stephens. Councillor Deborah Young, who was absent from the final meeting due to illness was also recognized for her contribution to council over her single term. Young was unsuccessful in her bid to replace Richardson as Mayor, finishing a distant fourth behind mayoral candidates Barb Clumpus, Jim McPherson, and Ray McHugh.

The contribution that elected officials make to the community is tremendous and is often a reflection of your passion and values to serve the community, and the time you devote throughout the year goes far beyond the meetings you attend in these chambers. It is your dedication to your community that we are honoured to recognize tonight and convey our sincere thanks,” said Meaford CAO Denyse Morrissey during the special presentation.

Of the returning members of council, Deputy Mayor Harley Greenfield, and Mayor-elect Barb Clumpus were each successful with resolutions brought forward at the final meeting of council for this term.

Greenfield found support around the council table for a resolution that essentially declares the urban core of Meaford a “no-go zone” for cell towers.

Therefore be it resolved that the Mayor of the Municipality of Meaford, on behalf of Council and residents, forward letters to the Canadian Radio-Television Telecommunications Commission and Industry Canada explaining our concerns about the Rogers proposal and asking for the responsible approval authorities to refuse the placement of any proposed tower in the urban area,” read Greenfield's resolution which was met with applause from the council gallery.

Soon to be Mayor Barb Clumpus also had a final resolution to put before the current council, and she too found enough support for some recommendations for the next council relating to policing.

Whereas, Council heard detailed comments from residents and taxpayers through public consultation on three occasions, and through many emails, letters and individual meetings; and Whereas, these comments have been considered in this motion; and Whereas, the anticipated new billing model report which outlines the estimated costs of policing services provided by the OPP to the municipality for 2015 has now been received,” read Clumpus' resolution. “Now therefore be it resolved that this Council of the Municipality of Meaford refers the following recommendations to the new Council (2014-2018).”

Those recommendations are:

  1. That the Municipality of Meaford continue with the policing services provided by the O.P.P.; and

  2. That the Owen Sound Police Services Board be informed by a letter under the signature of the Mayor, that the Municipality of Meaford will not move forward with the proposal for the Owen Sound Police Services to police our municipality; and further

  3. That the Municipality of Meaford thanks the City of Owen Sound, the Police Services Board, and the Police Department for presenting their proposal and for participating in the public process.

Meaford's newly elected council will be formally installed at a special meeting of council that will take place on Monday December 1, at 4 pm.